Read The Mystery Of Charles Dickens by Peter Ackroyd Free Online

Ebook The Mystery Of Charles Dickens by Peter Ackroyd read! Book Title: The Mystery Of Charles Dickens
The size of the: 637 KB
Edition: BBC Consumer Publishing
Date of issue: January 7th 2002
ISBN: 0563536500
The author of the book: Peter Ackroyd
Language: English
Format files: PDF
ISBN 13: 9780563536505

Read full description of the books The Mystery Of Charles Dickens:

In this tour-de-force performance, Simon Callow portrays not only Charles Dickens but also many of his best-loved characters, from Mr Micawber and Bill Sikes to Oliver Twist and even Nancy. Readings from Nicholas Nickleby, David Copperfield and many of his other novels interweave with the author's own words and an incisive, compassionate narrative. An idyllic childhood in Chatham was swapped for his family's penurious existence in London, the city which would later provide the canvas for many of his greatest works. With a father imprisoned for debt, young Charles was deprived of an education and forced to work in a blacking factory. Such experiences moulded this lonely and unusual child into the fiercely industrious and highly ambitious writer who would later claim that his characters talked to and touched him. A fascinating insight into the circumstances how he never quite managed to escape the dark shadows cast by his earlier life.

Read Ebooks by Peter Ackroyd

Read information about the author

Ebook The Mystery Of Charles Dickens read Online! Peter Ackroyd CBE is an English novelist and biographer with a particular interest in the history and culture of London.

Peter Ackroyd's mother worked in the personnel department of an engineering firm, his father having left the family home when Ackroyd was a baby. He was reading newspapers by the age of 5 and, at 9, wrote a play about Guy Fawkes. Reputedly, he first realized he was gay at the age of 7.

Ackroyd was educated at St. Benedict's, Ealing and at Clare College, Cambridge, from which he graduated with a double first in English. In 1972, he was a Mellon Fellow at Yale University in the United States. The result of this fellowship was Ackroyd's Notes for a New Culture, written when he was only 22 and eventually published in 1976. The title, a playful echo of T. S. Eliot's Notes Towards the Definition of Culture (1948), was an early indication of Ackroyd's penchant for creatively exploring and reexamining the works of other London-based writers.

Ackroyd's literary career began with poetry, including such works as London Lickpenny (1973) and The Diversions of Purley (1987). He later moved into fiction and has become an acclaimed author, winning the 1998 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for the biography Thomas More and being shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1987.

Ackroyd worked at The Spectator magazine between 1973 and 1977 and became joint managing editor in 1978. In 1982 he published The Great Fire of London, his first novel. This novel deals with one of Ackroyd's great heroes, Charles Dickens, and is a reworking of Little Dorrit. The novel set the stage for the long sequence of novels Ackroyd has produced since, all of which deal in some way with the complex interaction of time and space, and what Ackroyd calls "the spirit of place". It is also the first in a sequence of novels of London, through which he traces the changing, but curiously consistent nature of the city. Often this theme is explored through the city's artists, and especially its writers.

Ackroyd has always shown a great interest in the city of London, and one of his best known works, London: The Biography, is an extensive and thorough discussion of London through the ages.

His fascination with London literary and artistic figures is also displayed in the sequence of biographies he has produced of Ezra Pound (1980), T. S. Eliot (1984), Charles Dickens (1990), William Blake (1995), Thomas More (1998), Chaucer (2004), William Shakespeare (2005), and J. M. W. Turner. The city itself stands astride all these works, as it does in the fiction.

From 2003 to 2005, Ackroyd wrote a six-book non-fiction series (Voyages Through Time), intended for readers as young as eight. This was his first work for children. The critically acclaimed series is an extensive narrative of key periods in world history.

Early in his career, Ackroyd was nominated a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 1984 and, as well as producing fiction, biography and other literary works, is also a regular radio and television broadcaster and book critic.

In the New Year's honours list of 2003, Ackroyd was awarded the CBE.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to The Mystery Of Charles Dickens

Read EBOOK The Mystery Of Charles Dickens by Peter Ackroyd Online free

Download The Mystery Of Charles Dickens PDF: the-mystery-of-charles-dickens.pdf The Mystery Of Charles Dickens PDF